Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
OE6 Not Responding
01-09-2015, 03:14 AM
OE6 Not Responding
I'm new to using OE6 and currently running version 1.6.7 on Win7-32 installation (with all the latest updates). I run OE6 in XP Compatibility mode SP3 and as an administrator. At least 50% of the time, when I start OE6 the window is drawn with the folder list on the left but the welcome pane on the right is blank. When this occurs task manager shows the task as “not responding". Ending the process and restarting OE6 will start correctly. Although sometimes I need to end/restart a few times before OE6 will finally start. Once started correctly it may start correctly for several times in a row, but eventually I get the partially blank startup pane and the "not responding" status in task manager.

Below are two screen images of what the window looks like under these two conditions.

Dennis
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015, 05:29 AM
RE: OE6 Not Responding
do you have ESET antivirus? or any antivirus that has email intergreation? if yes g to your antivirus settings and disable email add-on, email intergration, or antispam.

Rafail B.
Administrator
-------------------------------------------------
01-09-2015, 06:50 AM
(01-09-2015 05:29 AM)Rafail Wrote:  do you have ESET antivirus? or any antivirus that has email intergreation? if yes g to your antivirus settings and disable email add-on, email intergration, or antispam.

I run Avast as my anti-virus. I turned off the mail client monitoring and rebooted. The problem still persists. It still takes 1-2 end-process/restarts to get the window to display correctly. Maybe 1 out 5 tries, OE6 will display correctly on the first try.

I should add the I don't use OE6 as my mail client, but rather I installed it for its newsreader capabilities. I use MS Office Outlook 2003 as my regular mail client.

Dennis
01-13-2015, 02:05 PM
What news server do you use?

Rafail B.
Administrator
01-13-2015, 11:18 PM